The Problem with Self-Improvement

WalkingDisaster
5 min readMar 18, 2022

Sorry, let me start over: there are infinitely many problems with trying to better yourself. And no, I am not talking about becoming a better person, because I don’t care enough to do that, I mean becoming healthier. Besides having to eat better, and sleep at a decent time, and exercise, and all that misery, there is the added conundrum of becoming that asshole who constantly talks about it. No one likes that person. Even that person doesn’t like that person, which is why they’re trying to diet and exercise their way into being a different person. I say this knowing full well that I am slowly becoming that person. Confused? Tough.

There was a time in my life where I felt like I had a personality, but those days are long gone. Is it my job handicapping any ability to feel joy? Or is it the fact that my apartment hasn’t had a working kitchen for almost three months now, and that frustration is bleeding into my everyday life? Obviously, yes to both. However, I think it’s also because while trying to lose these last five pounds in order to finally reach my goal weight, I have become the person who talks about the portion sizes of lunch with the crossfitting coworker. And crossfitters are the worst! But who else can I talk to about as miserable a subject as diet and/or exercise? I’ve had to give…

--

--

WalkingDisaster

Southern California Millennial; Awkward and very Aware of it; Chaotic Neutral. To read for free visit https://walking-disaster.com/